• News
  • Spirituality
    • Dream Interpretation
    • Angel Numbers
    • Tarot
    • Prayers
    • Spells
  • Health
  • Science
  • Celebs
  • Betting

Are Dairy And Grains Still Food Groups?


"Milk and alternatives" and "meat and alternatives" were two of the four food groups in the previous food guide, however, they are now combined. Lower-fat milk, yogurt, kefir, and cheese are all examples of protein foods provided by HealthCanada. Bread, tortillas, rice, pasta, and breakfast cereals made from wheat, rice, oats, cornmeal, barley, or other grains are examples of grain foods. This category of foods contains B vitamins (thiamine, riboflavin, niacin, and folate), minerals (iron), and fiber. Many people are reducing their use of meat, dairy and grainsproducts for environmental, health, and ethical reasons.

What Are Basic Food Groups?

The 2015-2020 Dietary Guidelines for Americans stress a balanced eating pattern that includes all five food categories, plus oils. While oils are not a dietary category, they are vital for critical fatty acids and vitamin E.

Each food category contains items with similar nutritional profiles and plays a vital part in a balanced diet. Some dietary categories are subdivided to highlight foods rich in specific vitamins and minerals. The Grains Group, for example, promotes whole grains, which include more fiber, magnesium, and zinc than processed grains. Scientists have found vitamins, minerals, and other dietary components over time, and more to be discovered. Food groupings focus on foods instead of nutrients, simplifying dietary advice. It's far simpler to consume two cups of fruit than 75 mg of vitamin Cand 25 g fiber. With calorie levels ranging from 1,000 to 3,200, the USDA Food Patterns offer each food category and subgroup the appropriate quantities. Food pattern modeling creates these patterns. No need to track hundreds of different nutrients while eating acceptable amounts. Each food group has cup equivalents (fruits, vegetables, and dairy) and ounce equivalents (grains) (for Grains and Protein Foods). Each design also contains a tiny quantity of added sugars and saturated fats (8-19%) that may be utilized differently.

Is Dairy Still A Food Group?

The 2019 Food Guide from Health Canada differs significantly from the 2017 version, with dairy nearly eliminated and a greater emphasis on plant-based foods. The recommendation shows a significant decrease in the recommended consumption of dairy products. In contrast to the previous version's advice of four complete servings of milk, cheese, yogurt, and other dairy products per day, the new food guide only suggests one daily pint of milk, eliminating the other items. The guide's general dairy section is likewise far less than in prior years.

In July 2017, the government suggested the elimination of dairy as a food category for the first time. Dairy consumption has been related to various health issues, the most frequent of which is lactose intolerance, which affects 65 percent of the world's population. Dairy consumption has also been related to high cholesterol and high blood pressure, and studies have found that it puts people at a higher risk of acquiring cancer and diabetes. Plant-based solutions are growing increasingly popular across the country — even Tim Hortons, Canada's largest quick-service restaurant chain, began selling soy milk in December 2014. Health Canada suggested adding warning labels to items high in saturated fat, salt, and sugars in February 2018, including dairy products.

What Food Group Is Dairy Under?

Dairy products such as milk, yoghurt, cheese, and/or substitutes Simple dairy foods such as plain milk, cheese, and yogurt are the most often consumed and are the most important dietary sources of calcium. Getting adequate calcium is essential for maintaining strong bones and teeth.

Are Grains Food Group?

Wheat, oats, rice, rye, barley, millet, quinoa, and corn are the most common grains. The various grains can be cooked and eaten whole, crushed into flour to produce bread, pasta, and noodles, or processed into ready-to-eat morning cereals. Grains (cereals) are classified into four categories. The following are the primary sub-groups:

  • Bread - wholemeal, wholegrain, white, rye, pita, lavash, naan, focaccia, crispbreads, damper
  • Ready-to-eat, high fiber (wholegrain) oats, porridge, muesli, wholewheat biscuits
  • Rice, barley, corn, polenta, buckwheat, spelt, millet, sorghum, triticale, rye, quinoa, and semolina are examples of grains.
  • Other items include pasta, noodles, English muffins, crumpets, rice cakes, couscous, bulgur, popcorn, and wheat.


Fruits and vegetables are examples of foods that are naturally high in nutrients. Lean meats, fish, complete grains, dairy, legumes, nuts, and seeds are all excellent protein sources. In addition to fibre and B vitamins (thiamin, riboflavin, and niacin), grains are also a good source of minerals and other nutrients.

Share: Twitter| Facebook| Linkedin

About The Authors

Alexander McCaslin

Alexander McCaslin- My job is to promote your health and I will look out for your well-being and happiness.

Recent Articles

No articles found.